Our city


Yerevan is a community: society of the population of Yerevan.
Yerevan is the capital of Armenia.
Yerevan is a judicial person, has right to property and other rights to estate. Yerevan has a budget as well as a seal with  image of the blazon and denomination of RA.
Local   governance in Yerevan is based   on RA law of “self- governance”   statutory principles providing proportionate development of all administrative districts of Yerevan.
Administrative boundaries of Yerevan are determined by law of “Administrative territorial dividing”.
The organs of Yerevan local governance are:     Council of the aldermen of Yerevan and  the Mayor of Yerevan.  The organs of Yerevan local governance are functioning in their residence: at 1, Argishti Street. The Council of the aldermen of Yerevan can organize its activity (including the meetings) in the other places according to the decision of the council.  The Ministry of Territorial Administration of RA is implementing the territorial management in Yerevan.  According to the decision of the government,   certain functions of the territorial management in Yerevan can be transferred   to the other republican organs of executive governance. 


2797 years have passed since the foundation of our city.
The name of the city of Yerevan goes back to the period of Urartu and originates from the name "Erebuni". It is known from the Urartian studies that the Urartian sound "B" sounds like "V" in Armenian. Thus, the name Erebuni has been transformed and has become Yerevan. Yerevan is located on the edge of the Ararat valley on both banks of the river Hrazdan, at an altitude of 900 - 1200 above sea level. The climate is acutely continental with hot and dry summer and relatively severe winter. By its administrative border the city is adjacent to the marzes Aragatsotn, Ararat, Armavir and Kotayk.